CPC

CPC, or Cost per Click, is a metric that is tracked in many branding, direct response and performance campaigns across any vertical. A click often refers to clickthru on an ad that directs them to the advertiser’s website, though many rich media campaigns may count a click on the ad that triggers some engagement (for […]

Kathryn Astbury
Kathryn Astbury
Senior Director of Marketing

CPC, or Cost per Click, is a metric that is tracked in many branding, direct response and performance campaigns across any vertical. A click often refers to clickthru on an ad that directs them to the advertiser’s website, though many rich media campaigns may count a click on the ad that triggers some engagement (for instance, the user clicks on the ad to start playing a video, or playing a mini-game on the ad unit); in the rich media situation, this can also be referred to as Cost per Engagement (CPE).

A related concept is eCPC, or Effective Cost per Click. This is often calculated by advertisers who pay on another cost basis such as CPM, but wish to convert it to a Cost per Click in order to optimize their media buying to some Cost per Click target.

It is calculated as follows:
( sum of the relevant media costs / total # of clicks )

So, if a display campaign spent $5,000, and garnered 250 clicks, then the the eCPC = $5000 / 250 = $20

Stay in the loop with monthly marketing insights delivered right to your inbox

Congratulations!

You have successfully signed signed up to our newsletter. Keep an eye on your inbox...

Invalid email

Please enter a valid email

By subscribing, you confirm you would like to receive marketing communications from impact.com. You can unsubscribe at any time.